Reduced Out-of-State Tuition Options

Reduced Out-of-State Tuition Options

There are two key ways to reduce the cost of college when you decide to attend a college in another Midwest state.


Minnesota has agreements with neighboring states to provide lower tuition for Minnesota residents to attend public colleges and universities in those states. This is called reciprocity. Typically, non-resident admission fees and tuition are reduced (or eliminated) if you’re a reciprocity student.

Minnesota has reciprocity agreements with Wisconsin, North Dakota, and South Dakota. It also has an agreement with the Canadian province of Manitoba, and a limited agreement with Iowa Lakes Community College in northwestern Iowa.

The programs with Wisconsin, North Dakota, and South Dakota cover virtually all students, including full-time, part-time, undergraduate, graduate, and professional (some professional programs are excluded).

Midwest Student Exchange Program

Students from Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and Wisconsin may be eligible for tuition reductions at certain Midwest public and private schools and programs of study through the Midwest Student Exchange Program.